The post that was thinking back to its childhood

I was thinking about my childhood this morning. I received a text in the early hours from my Dad telling me he was coming to the UK (he lives on the other side of the world) in a few week’s time but it was just a flying visit so there was no time to visit.

Yeah, no worries man. It’s not like we’re father and so… oh, wait.

No, I’m only joking. I’m a big enough boy now to not need his Dad around.

However, I confess I was a little bit… I don’t know… hurt? Disappointed? I see him once a year tops as it is and can’t actually remember the last time I did. But then I realised I shouldn’t be surprised.

He’s kind of always been that way.

And that’s when I started thinking back to when I was a child. My strongest memories of my childhood are of being miserable and sad. Of my parents constantly, and I mean constantly fighting. Not physically. But in every other way.

Shouting and screaming at each other day in and day out followed by days and days of them not talking to one another.

And when they were, you never know when the next World War was going to break out, the only thing you were damn sure of was that it was never far away.

I can’t remember what they fought about to be honest. It never seemed like anything in particular.

I remember things being thrown at each other. Cups and plates smashing. Food and drink being hurled. If the battle broke out during a meal time, you’d have to watch your head (and guard your food) because if that got hurled, you’d be going to bed hungry.

I remember often wanting to step in, get off the top stair where I was listening to them swearing violently at each other, go down and scream at them to shut the hell and to please please just separate for everyone’s benefit.

But I never plucked up the courage, though I really wish I had.

When they finally did separate, I was about 16 years old and I remember feeling so relieved.

I sort of remember feeling sad about it as well though I was happy it had happened. Despite that, I started getting into drugs and doing much worse at school. At the time, I thought it had nothing to do with anything that was going on at home. Looking back, I guess it was kind of obvious this was my way of escaping it.

I had to witness my Mum being really weird towards my Dad in an attempt to convince him not to leave. It was tragic and pathetic. I thought so at the time and I still do now.

After seeing this text this morning and then trying to back to sleep (it was like 4:30am), my mind wandered in the way that they do at that time in the morning and I started thinking about how much a childhood like mine has an impact on adult relationships – whether that’s friends or love interests.

Now, I’m not saying it’s all their fault or anything like that but I suspect that on a subconscious level, there has been an impact. Maybe contributed to my resistance to having relationships with anyone. Of course, it’s impossible to know for sure and I never will.

I know, people have much much worse upbringings than I had and probably go on to have healthy relationships. I’m really not trying to absolve myself of any blame here. Rather, I’m considering what impact it may have had, if any.

You are the result of your personality plus your environment, after all.

I suspect it’s contributed to my singleness, occasional lack of desire to want a partner, tendency to see having someone as a hassle rather than a blessing. I’ve never had any desire to get married and I don’t see that changing.

Nor can I see myself ever wanting a child. On that front, I always think how much I hated school, how hard I found it to make friends, and then how fucking shitty it was at home and I think, why on earth would I want to put someone else through that? Especially someone I love? It’d be painful for the both of us so on a logical level, it makes no sense.

And marriage? Yeah, my vision of marriage is waiting for the next fight to happen followed by the next bout of silent treatment, and regularly seeing a sofa turned into a bed to sleep on. The level of ‘shitness’ felt as a result of that environment far outweighs the level of joy felt as a result of a happy marriage in my opinion.

Anyway, I just thought it was an interesting notion to ponder. I bet there is some interesting stuff about this sort of thing on the interwebs so I might do some Googling later.

Cool, so now that’s off my chest.

Have a good evening, folks.

N x

6 thoughts on “The post that was thinking back to its childhood

  1. You aren’t a consequence of your circumstances but a product of your decisions.

    We can’t chose the family we are born into and the idea of this fairytale family where everyone gets along is just not true for most.

    Have a bit more confidence in the amazing things you have achieved and your value in this world, don’t wait for someone else to tell you how great you are, tell yourself!

    And marriage is a social construct, it shouldn’t be in anyone’s top 5 list of achievements! It’s a side product at the most!!!

    🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This reminds me of a show I’ve been watching called The Mindy Project. It’s a cute, romantic comedy. Anyway, the guy she’s with now is similar in letting what happened in his childhood/and past affect how he is about relationships. He had a really hard time committing to Mindy, and making huge steps and moves in their relationship, but they are changing each other for the better. They’re making each other better people, and helping one another break bad habits and branch out. He also had a horrible marriage that ended which he fears he doesn’t really deserve love. And watching his dad walk out on his mom, he just didn’t see himself deserving of a happy ending, or marriage. And Mindy believes that she DOES deserve the happiness.

    Anyway, the point was just that, everything that has happened to us affects us in some way. Even if it’s subconsciously. So yeah, your resistance to relationships is likely “partly” due to your childhood and watching a failed relationship and marriage. However, I do think that someone will come along one of these days and she will definitely change your mind!

    Like

  3. My experience, for what worth it may have in this moment, is that meditating helps me observe my self, and in doing that I put some space between the “cue”, and the “reaction” to that cue. To the extent that I have space between a stimulus and my automatic response, in that space I have choice…..that is, the opportunity to better manage and direct myself.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment